Random Thoughts

There’s a great life ahead if we’d allow ourselves to pursue it

The past couple of months have been challenging. I have been fluctuating between tons of emotions, and struggling to find a sane balance. But with all the chaos that went on around me, I didn’t need someone to tell me I was doing it all wrong.

I realized that I no longer had a spirit of my own. Amid fist-clenching the past, I had tied the entirety of my being to others. I was spending time responding to the needs of others—so much that I had forgotten about my own needs.

My happiness revolved around the approval of others; what was okay for me to do, say, wear, by their own standards. When I could be happy was when they said so. I was slowly becoming a shadow of myself, and I knew it.

But why did I keep holding on to all the bull crap, enduring the melt downs, picking myself up, only to fall to ground again? Was it the love that I had for these people, or the lack of love I had for myself? What exactly was I afraid of?

Each day is like a scuffle against myself. To live or not to live. To hold on, or to let go. To cut ties, or build new ones. And this is me, my early steps to re-structuring my thoughts, and a conscious effort to be back in charge; full of optimism, and mental strength to face my fears head on.

I believe there’s a great life ahead for everyone, and you too can take charge of your life. But first, you must be willing to give yourself a chance to pursue it.

Happiness could mean letting go, cutting ties, and starting again from scratch. But if it will be worth it, why not give it a shot?

“There’s a great adventure ahead, but first we must release the ash to sail with cold winds over the open sea. Then we must burrow the sands for hidden treasures we had stridden on.”

 

a0946b81-2a40-4f5d-9b6f-6e01e2531fc8

Standard

10 thoughts on “There’s a great life ahead if we’d allow ourselves to pursue it

  1. This is where ‘I am my OWN first’ comes from, I realized my whole existence was for everyone else that I no longer knew how to be mine again (or was I ever?)

    It’s a scary journey, the realization is the first part of it then you won’t go wrong…

    All the Best Naa ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The first step to total liberation is breaking free from the need for approval from others.
    And you my dear are on that route and you are doing wonders.
    There is indeed a great adventure ahead of us and so saddle up and enjoy the ride.
    The destination matters but the journey is where all lessons are learnt.
    All the best

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nene Williams says:

    I sometimes look at the inner me as someone else even to the extent of seeing the inner me as someone I’ll like to be someday because it conflicts with the person others define me to be. Nice blog 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Say something about this post

