Writing Tips

The words don’t make sense? Maybe you should trash it!

Hey everyone, this is going to be pretty much short. I’ve realized something—actually, I have tried it a couple of times and it works pretty well for me so I decided to share with you.

Just as we (writers) are probably aware of, sometimes it is writing time for our minds but not for our hearts. Those are the days we can’t seem to make enough sense of what we pen down because we get the feeling there’s something missing or it’s just off.

In our frustration, we are likely to close the book, toss it over our heads and climb out of the writing space; or worse, post it as it sucks. Let’s face it, we can’t expect our audience to ‘feel’ our works if we ourselves don’t ‘feel’ it.

Here’s the thing, there’s something else you can do that may help. Trash it.

writers-block

Yes, you heard me right. The trick I found in ‘trashing your work’ is not that you are giving up and throwing in the towel but rather, you are emptying yourself and then opening up blank new—which most often triggers better results.

In my experience, I discovered that when I trashed my work, I got more ideas. I was able to restructure my thoughts and write better.

So there! Why don’t you give it a try the next time you ‘wrongly’ string your words. Who knows, it might work for you too.

And oh, do you have any tips you’d like to share with me? I’d love to know how I can get better, and I’m sure others would want to know too 🙂

Standard

3 thoughts on “The words don’t make sense? Maybe you should trash it!

  1. Pingback: MEET AN AFRICAN BLOGGER: V NAA TAKIA – Afrobloggers

Say something about this post

