Uncategorized

Death. Rebirth. Old Souls.

PhotoCredit: belimitless.com

PhotoCredit: belimitless.com

Today I thought a lot of my old blog. My first baby. I remember how excited I was about blogging back then. I didn’t have much. I didn’t have anything. Except a dying fire that somehow lit life within me.

I remember when Elias asked what name I wanted for my blog. I didn’t know. I didn’t care as long as she would emit the joy I felt. I called her ‘writersglee’, after what joy she gave me.

When I decided to do the big move, she was perfect—perfect as she had always been in my eyes. But I knew she could be better. I wanted her to be. It took forever to let her go. Not with all those uncertainties. But I knew within me both of us could only get better.

Poetry et al. She became my new baby. Everything I got. Everything I needed.

I’ve been around for a while. Come far? Nay, not yet. I can only say I’ve come far if I stop to look back and I don’t want to stop.

Lately, I have been reading some of my old pieces, from back in the day. It feels like going back to my birth place… the mental pictures. Like sitting in the middle of an empty room; watching spaces and what used to fill them. Nostalgia.

Sometimes, I don’t want to go back there. I get scared. Frightened, more so. I think it’s because I see what could have been…better? Yes. Maybe.

So this is what I thought of today. A diary category on this blog. And here, I will share some of my experiences with writing. It may get ‘personal’. I hope it does. And by personal I mean, I may get lost in time. When I do, please strike me back to reality. I’d love for you to jump in and share your experiences with me.

For starters, I think this is it. Thanks for surviving the speech. lol

There’s one more tiiiiiiiny weeny thing though. You didn’t think I was going to leave you without a poem right? No you didn’t. This is for you. And all the ‘old souls’ out there who are restless with this art.

OLD SOULS

 

There are old souls, often without rest.

They glide between breath and gone,

eager and searching,

for a stray speck of life;

what they dont know—what they dont know yet.

 

 

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Death. Rebirth. Old Souls.

  1. I looove this! Yes, do get personal, love it when you do 🙂
    I can so relate to this post. The hopes, dreams and fears too when we start a blog.. I started one in 2012 but got paralyzed with fear when people read it… it was hard to get personal and I eventually stopped posting.

    With this new style blog of mine, I’m determined to plow on and carry it on the long haul. And yeah, it’s probably best to avoid looking at old pieces! Ha.

    Cheers to evolution and staying the course!

    Liked by 1 person

    • naatakia says:

      Thank you very much Cara. Starting something new can be paralyzing but we must look at the bigger picture. I love your fashion blog. You’re so real it’s frighteningly beautiful. Lool

      Liked by 1 person

Say something about this post

