Uncategorized

My last breath.

I saw in her face fear

I saw in her eyes sorrow

As she walked in with them

 

I could feel her pain

Even mine was gone

When they stepped in

 

I was leaving…

Leaving her

And my two children

 

And as they stood by my side

I thought of all the things I had to say

But no word escaped from my lips

 

My wife, remained by my side

Her vow, she still fulfilled

Even when I was only a piece left

 

And the sweet souls of my daughters

Eight and six…

Too young to understand remained standing

 

“Papa, papa”, the youngest said

“Mummy says you are going on a trip,

When will you be back?”

 

I held her hand tighter

And tried to speak

I tried to answer my little angel

 

But my words were but a lump of sob

And only a streak of tear

Dropped down my face

 

“Papa, why can’t we come with you? She insisted

I could do nothing but hold firm

The hands of those I loved for the very last time

 

The time had come; I was been called

Closing my eyes, I breathed my last.

And my grip loosened

 

I had left with no answers

I had gone, without

Answering the questions of those little hearts…

Standard

Say something about this post

